You can stop WhatsApp from sharing your data with Facebook
WhatsApp, Facebook Inc’s popular messaging service, on Thursday announced it will start sharing users’ phone numbers with its parent, however, there is a way to prevent data being shared.
There are two methods to avoid Facebook from getting your number. The first way is that when the messaging app updates its terms and conditions, rather than simply accepting them you can press the ‘read more’ option to read through the terms and conditions.
You can then uncheck the box which says “Share my WhatsApp account information with Facebook…”
The other method applies to users who have already accepted the new terms and conditions. You can find the account tab that exists in the app settings menu and uncheck the box that says “Share my account info” to stop feeding Facebook with your data. This option exists only for 30 days after the user accepts the new terms and conditions.
Account settings PHOTO: WHATSAPP
WhatsApp, however, claimed that the users’ messages would remain private even as it step up coordination with its parent company.
“Even as we coordinate more with Facebook in the months ahead, your encrypted messages stay private and no one else can read them,” the statement added.
Have something to add to this story? Share it in the comments section below.
Published in The Express Tribune